What is the difference between marking a message as read and archiving it?
A read and archived message are different things.
You can have a read or an unread email that is archived.
When a message is archived, what you are really doing is removing the inbox label from the email. This means it is removed from the inbox. It can be read or unread at this point.
When you read or mark an email as read, Gmail will change the colour of the email on the homepage but the email does not move. It stays in your inbox.
If you like a blank inbox at the end of the day then archiving is the way to go. Itis a way of telling if you have dealt with an email. After all you might have read an email but left it to later to answer. If you have lots of email, you might forget which ones you have dealt with.
How to archive an email
- Click on the box on the left of the email you want to archive.
- Click on the Archive button which will appear at the top of the page. It looks like a small grey box with an arrow pointing down.
To find an archived message, look in the All mail label/folder.